Quick Links

Useful Links

Westbury Infant School and Resource Base

Kangaroo Class Blog (YR)

Welcome to our new blog for 2023-24!  We hope to share all the wonderful things we are learning about in Reception.

Image by John Torcasio on Unsplash

Our Class teachers are Miss V. Thrippleton and Mrs G. Hughes (Tuesdays).  Our teaching assistant is Ms A. Adlam/Ms L.Grieve.

YR Curriculum Overview 2023-24  YR Writing Curriculum 2023-24  

School Reading Spine 2023-24 

 

Show list Show Grid
  • Friday 1 March 2024 Friday 1st March 2024 Fee Fi Fo Fum....please listen to my side of the story!
  • Friday 23 February 2024 Friday 23rd February 2024 Fee fi fo fum...Kangaroos are back in school!!!
  • Friday 9 February 2024 Friday 9th February 2024 Happy Half Term!!
  • Friday 2 February 2024 Friday 2nd February 2024 Star gazing, astronaut food and spaceship creations!
  • Friday 26 January 2024 Friday 26th January 2024 Five little men in a flying saucer flew around the world one day...
  • Friday 19 January 2024 Friday 19th January 2024 The Smeds and The Smoos have inspired our learning this week. The children have loved retelling the story and completing work linked to the text. Following a discussion on the planets visited in the story, the children decided that they would create their very own planet. It was great to see the children chatting about what would be on their planet for example we had a rainbow planet and at the end of the rainbow would be treasure. Another planet was a sweet planet with hanging candy canes and swirly lollipops. The children loved creating their very own alien that they might meet on their travels in space. I also set the children of photographing their amazing work and I was impressed with their photography skills. Can you tell which pictures the children took and which ones adults took?
  • Friday 12 January 2024 Friday 12th January 2024 5, 4, 3, 2,1 Blast off... we had an amazing first week back in Kangaroo class. We started the week with the story 'Toys in Space'. The children quickly picked up new vocabulary to discuss the feelings of the characters. As part of our activities this week the children had the opportunity to create their own space story, draw their favourite toys that they would take into space and use the ipads to practice their letter formation. At the end of the week we created some lost posters because Sam the dog floated off into space and went missing. As a class we thought really hard about how we could search for him and the children designed and made different modes of transportation that could be used to locate him such as jet packs and hot air balloons.
  • Wednesday 20 December 2023 Wednesday 20th December 2023 We made it to the end of term!! We have really enjoyed celebrating Christmas this week in Kangaroo Class.
  • Friday 15 December 2023 Friday 15th December Lights Camera Action...Kangaroos are superstars!!
  • Friday 8 December 2023 Friday 8th December 2023 Christmas is in the air....
  • Friday 1 December 2023 Friday 1st December 2023 Run run as fast as you can you can't catch me....or can you?
  • Friday 24 November 2023 Friday 24th November 2023 Wonderful Woodland Walks
  • Friday 17 November 2023 Friday 17th November 2023 Don't you know there is no such thing as a Gruffalo...or is there?
  • Friday 10 November 2023 Friday 10th November 23 Little Pig...Little Pig....Please can I come in?
  • Friday 3 November 2023 Friday 3rd November 2023 What a week we have had finding out about different celebrations. The children enjoyed sharing their experiences of Autumn, Diwali and Bonfire Night. Throughout the week we have looked at each celebration and compared how they are similar or different. The week began with the story of ‘Leaf Man’ where we looked at all the different creations made from leaves. This inspired some of our children to use the loose parts to create a picture.
  • Wednesday 18 October 2023 Wednesday 18th October 2023
  • Friday 13 October 2023 Friday 13th October 2023 We have had an amazing week exploring our senses in Kangaroo Class. We started the week with a visit to our sensory garden. The children enjoyed discovering the plants they could smell, the textures they could touch and the sounds they could hear. The children also discussed all the different things they could see and what they might be able to taste such as the herbs and fruit growing on the trees. In our topic sessions the children used their sense of touch to work out what object was hiding in the bag. We were smell detectives to work out the scents that were in each smell pot and at the end of the week we had fun tasting different foods. We played a listening game where the children had to say what sounds they could hear in an audio clip. It was a great week.
  • Friday 6 October 2023 Friday 6th October 2023 We have had a fun but tiring week in Kangaroo Class.
  • Friday 29 September 2023 Friday 29th September 2023 Wow another week has flown by!! I can't believe how well the children are settled and into their routines. They can now remind me about jobs that need to be done which is amazing! This week we the children the children have been learning the sounds i,n,p,g,o. As the children know 10 sounds we have started to blend sounds together to make simple words such as mad, dad, sat, sad and at. The children learnt the routines brilliantly for using the magnetic letters to make words. Look out for the video links to support your child learn their sounds.
  • Friday 22 September 2023 Friday 22nd September 2023 This week Kangaroo class have become phonic superstars! I am so impressed with their attitude to learning new sounds and they've worked so hard to understand our signals that we use in our Read Write Inc sessions. This week the children were introduced to the sounds m,a,s,d,t. We have been doing lots of work on 'Fred Talk' our frog teddy only speaks in sounds. The children copy Fred and then say the word after repeating the sounds.
  • Friday 15 September 2023 Friday 15th September 2023 The children have had a fantastic full time week in school. They have worked hard to get to grips with the routines of the day and are becoming more independent with their morning jobs.
  • Friday 8 September 2023 Friday 8th September 2023 Wow! What an amazing week we have had in Kangaroo Class. It was delightful to start the week with home visits. Thank you so much for welcoming us into your homes - It was great to meet you all.

Subscribe to our news as an RSS feed